NCMHCE exam prep, compared

Fourteen prep options compared on cost for 3 months ($50 to $329), practice cases, guarantee and free sample, plus which ones people who passed used most. We make one of them, Licensure Lab, and it is marked.

Updated November 1, 2026Publisher pages checked November 1, 2026

Best NCMHCE exam prep: our top picks

  • Our pick Licensure Lab $249 for 6 months 170 full cases in the current format, timed 11-case exams, every option explained. We make it. Try a free case
  • Most used by passers CounselingExam.com $240 for 90 days Named far more than anything else in first-hand accounts. Big site; some explanations are brief. See plans
  • Budget NBCC Foundation guide + an app About $85 Six official cases ($34.95) for the wording, plus Pocket Prep ($50 for 3 months) for content. NBCC prep page

Pick by situation

Which kind of prep fits which need
If you…Consider
Want what most passers usedCounselingExam.com
Are on a tight budgetFree samples, NBCC Foundation’s guide ($34.95, six cases), a question app for content
Learn best from a teacherAATBS live online, PASS the NCMHCE, or a tutor
Want a book to readMometrix guide or NBCC Foundation’s guide
Missed by a few pointsA tutor for test-taking, plus timed full cases
Want full-length timed examsLicensure Lab Ours, CounselingExam.com, Clinical Exam Workshop

All 14 products side by side

NCMHCE prep products, publisher claims on the date shown
ProductAbout 3 monthsFull exams or casesGuaranteeFree sampleChecked
CounselingExam.com$240 (90 days)Yes; count not statedFree repeat subscription if you fail2-case practice examNov 1
Licensure Lab Ours$249 (6 months)11-case timed exams from 170 casesNone1 full case, no accountNov 1
Mometrix course$300 ($99.99/month)4 full tests, 870+ questions7-day refundNoneNov 1
Mometrix book$55 one-time2 practice tests1-year refundNot shownNov 1
AATBS self-study$279 (3 months)2 full exams + 11 casesFree 3-month extension (6 and 9-month plans)~20-minute testAug 12
AATBS live online$329 (3 months)2 full exams + 11 casesFree 3-month extension (6 and 9-month plans)~20-minute testAug 12
Clinical Exam Workshop$249 on sale, $299 list (6 months)3 full 225-minute examsRefund if you fail; send your score sheetFree practice examNov 1
Tests.com$49.95 one-time, no time limit500 questions from 50+ casesPass or money backFree sampleNov 1
PASS the NCMHCE$240 ($79.99/month)3 full exams + 21 casesNot shownNot shownNov 1
CounselorExams.com$260 (60 days)12 or 48 casesNot shown1 caseNov 1
Study.com$180 ($59.99/month)1+ tests“Risk-free” 30 daysSome questionsAug 12
Pocket Prep$50 (3 months)1,000 questions3 more months free if you fail30 questionsNov 1
NCMHCE Pocket Study$50 (3 months)Exam simulations, count not statedNot shownSome featuresNov 1
PASS Quick Review$40 one-time68-page guideNot shownNot shownNov 1

All dates are 2026. Every figure is the publisher’s own claim. We did not buy these products, and a listed feature is not an endorsement. AATBS and Study.com blocked our check on November 1. 45 Day Pass was on this list until its website stopped loading on November 1. Prices change; check before you buy.

What test takers said

From first-hand accounts by people who took the current exam
ProductNamed byLikedComplaints
CounselingExam.com115 who passed, 24 who failedCases close to the real exam, or a little harderBig, hard-to-navigate site; brief explanations
Mometrix32 who passed, 3 who failedSome passed with it aloneQuestions unlike the exam; scores swing
Clinical Exam Workshop12 who passed, 7 who failedStep-by-step methodPractice tests harder than the exam
NBCC Foundation guide11 who passed, 1 who failedWording closest to the real examOnly six cases
Question appsPocket Prep: 9 who passedGood for content reviewDon’t practice the case format
TutorsNot countedHelped retakers with test-takingCost

Opinions, not tests; some posts may be marketing. “Named by” shows what people used, not what made them pass, and someone who failed and later passed counts on both sides. The usual winning mix was one content source plus a lot of case practice.

Why Licensure Lab

The exam is cases, so the thing to practice most is cases. Here is how many practice cases each product says it includes:

  • Licensure Lab Ourscurrent format, 3 locking parts170
  • Tests.com50+ cases, 500 questions50
  • CounselorExams.comFull package48
  • PASS the NCMHCEplus 3 full exams21
  • AATBSplus 2 full exams11
  • NBCC Foundation guideofficial book6

Stand-alone practice cases as each publisher states them, checked November 1, 2026, except AATBS, whose page blocked our check, so its figure is from August 12. Full-length exams are listed separately. CounselingExam.com advertises full exams and case studies but no counts, and Clinical Exam Workshop lists 3 full exams but no case count.

What you get with Licensure Lab
170 cases, 2,105 questionsAll in the current format, each in three parts that lock like the exam
Real exam simulations11 cases on the 225-minute clock, built from cases you haven’t reviewed
Every option explainedWhy the best answer is best and why each other one falls short
Your misses come backWrong decisions return for focused review
$249 for 6 monthsAbout $1.46 per case; try one free first

See for yourself: one full case, every option explained, no sign-up.

Try a free case

What about 3 months of prep costs

People who passed usually studied about two months, often up to three, so this compares the cost of about 90 days on each product’s cheapest fitting plan.

  • Pocket Prepquestion app$50
  • NCMHCE Pocket Studyquestion app$50
  • Tests.comone price, no time limit$50
  • Study.comcourse, monthly$180
  • CounselingExam.com90-day plan$240
  • PASS the NCMHCEcourse, monthly$240
  • Clinical Exam Workshop6 months, $50 off $299 now$249
  • Licensure Lab Ours6 months$249
  • CounselorExams.com48 cases, 60 days only$260
  • AATBS self-study3 months$279
  • Mometrix coursemonthly$300
  • AATBS live online3 months$329

Publisher list prices checked November 1, 2026. AATBS and Study.com blocked our check, so theirs are from August 12. Monthly plans are counted as three months. CounselorExams.com sells 60-day access only. Books cost less: the Mometrix guide is $55 and NBCC Foundation’s official guide is $34.95.

Before you buy, check

  1. Case format. Full 3-part cases that lock, not just single questions.
  2. Explanations. Why each wrong option is wrong. Try the free sample.
  3. Length. The plan covers your study weeks. The study plan builder counts them.
  4. Guarantee terms. A 2-day refund and a free extension after a fail are very different.
  5. Exam version. The exam changes on July 1, 2027.

NCMHCE prep FAQ

What is the best NCMHCE prep?

We found no independent ranking of NCMHCE prep products, and no publisher shares verified pass data. Choose on what you can check: whether practice is in the current case format, how many full-length exams you get, whether every answer option is explained, the price for the time you need, and the exact guarantee terms.

How much does NCMHCE prep cost?

Advertised prices for the 14 products we reviewed range from $20.99 a month for a question-bank app to $599.95 for a year of access, with many courses between about $150 and $450. These are publisher list prices as of November 2026.

Which NCMHCE prep do most people use?

In first-hand accounts from people who took the current exam, CounselingExam.com was named far more than any other product by people who passed, followed by Mometrix, Clinical Exam Workshop and NBCC Foundation's official study guide. Most people who passed combined one content source with a lot of case practice.

Not sure you need a course at all? Study materials lists the free options for each part of the exam.

The free practice case is one full NCMHCE-style case: 14 questions, about 20 minutes, no account needed.

Try the free case